Friday, August 9, 2013


Janelle Monáe won over critics and fans with her debut The ArchAndroid and now she’s ready to embark on the next chapter of her career with The Electric Lady. The CoverGirl spokeswoman has revealed the futuristic cover and tracklisting for her sophomore album.

Due September 10, the two-disc set features collaborations with Prince (“Givin Em What They Love”), Erykah Badu (“Q.U.E.E.N.”), Solange (“Electric Lady”), Miguel (“PrimeTime”), and Esperanza Spalding (“Dorothy Dandridge Eyes”).

“The ArchAndroid focused on self-realization: realizing your superpower and the things that you’re capable of doing,” she told BUST magazine of her 2010 album. “With The Electric Lady, we’re talking about self-actualization: being the change you want to see. It’s also more personal, more revealing. The new album deals with a new breed of women…strong, bold women who are taking their stands and not being marginalized.”

The Target deluxe edition adds four exclusive songs including “HYTB,” the Jackson 5 cover “I Want You Back,” and remixes to “Q.U.E.E.N.” and “The Electric Lady.”

See the tracklisting below.

The Electric Lady Tracklisting

Disc 1
1. “Suite IV Electric Overture”
2. “Givin Em What They Love” feat. Prince
3. “Q.U.E.E.N.” feat. Erykah Badu
4. “Electric Lady” feat. Solange
5. “Good Morning Midnight” (Interlude)
6. “PrimeTime” feat. Miguel
7. “We Were Rock & Roll”
8. “The Chrome Shoppe” (Interlude)
9. “Dance Apocalyptic”
10. “Look Into My Eyes”

Disc 2
11. “Suite V Electric Overture”
12. “It’s Code”
13. “Ghetto Woman”
14. “Our Favorite Fugitive” (Interlude)
15. “Victory”
16. “Can’t Live Without Your Love”
17. “Sally Ride”
18. “Dorothy Dandridge Eyes” feat. Esperanza Spalding
19. “What an Experience”

Target Deluxe Edition
1. “HYTB”
2. “I Want You Back” (Jackson 5 cover)
3. “Q.U.E.E.N. (Remix)”
4. “The Electric Lady (Remix)”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...